I’ll Fight If You Want Me To Fight

Before reading this post, make sure you’ve read the latest chapter, “Near Past 1”, which went up yesterday.

The teenage Emma goes to a concert in New York to see Beulah, which happens to be one of my favorite bands. I was listening to a lot of Beulah around the time I was writing To Mean Something to Someone. I hadn’t purposefully intended to mention them or to use one of their songs in a pivotal scene of the novel.

As I’ve mentioned before (link), I wrote To Mean Something to Someone over several years, the bulk of the work happening in the summer. In October 2009, during my freshman year of college, I went to Starbucks and wrote the latest chapter. Shortly after, I put the novel aside for the rest of the year. While at Starbucks, I happened to be listening to the Beulah song “If We Can Land a Man on the Moon, Surely I Can Win Your Heart,” which a friend had put on a CD a couple weeks before. I knew I was writing a concert scene that would result in Emma’s first big love. The song seemed to fit the mood perfectly.

Photo 107

Here is (embarrassingly) a photo of me from that day– headphones in. You can see my notebook just under my arm. For the record, I don’t usually take Photobooth photos of myself writing at Starbucks or at any other time, for that matter. I just really felt like a real writer writing at a coffee shop, many months before I began frequently coffee shops.

Anyway, for those of you interested, here are a couple videos of Beulah performing the song.

This is Beulah performing live:

This is the recorded version of the song I listened to that day:

Leave a Reply

